Community Council By - Elections

1. Summary

This report provides information on the recent Community Council By-Elections.

2. Recommendation

To note the contents of this report.

3. Background

A review of the Scheme of Community Councils in Argyll & Bute was undertaken in 2008 and implemented in April 2009.

The first elections for all 56 Community Councils were held in October 2009 where 54 of the Community Councils were constituted.

Further by-elections were held in December 2009 and March 2010 to fill the remaining vacancies. Following that all Community Councils were written to in July 2010 to enquire whether they wanted their remaining vacancies to be filled by running further By-Elections.

In the Bute & Cowal area, the following Community Councils asked for By-Elections to be run.

Cairndow Lochgoil Kilfinan Ardentinny Sandbank Dunoon South Cowal Bute

The publication of the Notice of Election was advertised in the local papers and published on the Councils website on week beginning 23 August with the close of nominations being on Thursday 16 September 2010. Nominations were received for all of the above Community Councils apart from Ardentinny, Sandbank and Bute. After close of nominations for the Bute & Cowal area, 10 seats were filled and one contest arose for Lochgoil Community Council.

4. OUTCOME

As a result of the above, the following individuals have now been confirmed as Community Councillors within the Community councils listed.

Cairndow

Frances Bremner, 11 Kilmorich, Cairndow Dorothy M Chalmers, 6 Kilmorich, Cairndow Neil A Colburn, 4 Hydro Houses, Cairndow Joseph B Rowlands, Old Schoolhouse, Cairndow Margaret Swift, 5 Hydro Houses, Cairndow

Kilfinan

William MacMorris, 24 Berryburn, Kames, Tighnabruaich Steven Bright, Oran An Eala, Portavadie, Tighnabruaich

Dunoon

Ewan J Hamilton, 149 Alexander Street, Dunoon Michael MacIntyre, 43 Valrose Terrace, Dunoon

South Cowal

Lewis R MacDonald, Tower Bank, Knockamillie Terrace, Innellan

5. TIMETABLE

The Timetable for the Lochgoil By-Election is detailed below:-

Monday 23 August 2010 – Publication of Notice of Election Thursday 16 September 2010 – Close of Nominations Thursday 30 September 2010 – Notice of Poll / Notice of Uncontested Election Thursday 7 October 2010 – Issue of Postal Votes **Thursday 28 October 2010 – Election Day** Friday 29 October 2010 – Count of Votes

Douglas Hendry Executive Director of Customer Services

1 October 2010